March 2016

Well, I’ve failed again in my attempts to keep up to date!  I do try but life just seems to get in the way, but a little reflection now and again is all to the good.

The end of last year was spent in catching up with some old friends – you know, those friends who you don’t see for years and years, then you meet and it’s as if there has been no time in between meetings!  In both cases it was as delight and we reveled in enjoying each others company again – and vowed not to let it go so long again…

DSC00321The winter has been exceedingly mild – lots of rain and lots of standing water round us – but by no means as bad as many parts of the country.  The one day of snow came and went in a flash.

The family all seem settled in there various locations, and it is great that we get together for usually very brief but highly enjoyable meals, BBQs and the odd overnight stop!

My reading in the last six months of 2015 was mainly dedicated to catching up with possible Carnegie and Greenaway Medal nominations – and then the actual readings of the 91 and 73 (respectively) nominated titles.  Jut about to hear the shortlists – so watch the website for the announcements.  I was amazingly honoured to be asked to be Chair of Youth Libraries Group for 2017 (making me VC now) and thus VC of Judges this year.  I’ve already started reading titles that are likely to be on the nominations for the 2017 medal – catch my Goodreads feed for the best of them that I add to my reviews.

Beyond that work at the School Library Association is amazingly busy – but I’m sure I’ll get some catch up time in the Easter holidays – I hope!

Leave a comment

Filed under Diary, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

