Problems

Saturday was a day at Library Camp in the new Birmingham library – well I spent the morning there but by lunchtime I had to leave as the pain in my head was awful! So, I spent the weekend thinking I had a tooth going horribly wrong – the pain was intense and excruciating but I couldn’t quite decide which tooth it was…. Odd, but an emergency dentist was called for – as my own dentist only works a 5 day week. Off I went to a wizzy new building and the Mannock Practice in Wellingborough. An excellent and efficient service – and a delightful french accented dentist – all assured me it was not my teeth. Possibly neuralgia he suggested, and I felt relieved!

Monday morning dawned too early after a very disturbed night – and so many painkillers it was unbelievable. Another emergency appointment, at my Doctors – and I am diagnosed with Trigerminal Neuralgia. There is a TN Association which gives me more information (on the recommendation of the doctor) and I wish I had never looked…

TRIGEMINAL NEURALGIA is an extremely severe facial pain that tends to come and go unpredictably in sudden shock-like attacks. The pain is normally triggered, for example by light touch, and is described as stabbing, shooting, excruciating or burning. It usually lasts for a few seconds but there can be many bursts of pain in quick succession. What is TN?
The trigeminal nerve is the fifth cranial nerve and its function is to send pain messages to the brain. When the nerve malfunctions, pain messages are sent at inappropriate times and the pains can be of great severity. In fact, TN is regarded as the most painful condition that is known in the medical world. From TNA WEbsite – see link above – accessed 3/12/13

I can agree about the pain, and the medication prescribed has one of the most awful lists of possible side effects and warnings – but a friend has had the condition for some time, takes the same medication and he was very reassuring in his response to my rather quavering inquiries…  So, whilst we get the medication sorted and my condition stabilized I will have a few days off work and catch up on some reading – the condition is so debilitating that nothing else is possible.

Comments Off on Problems

Filed under Diary

Comments are closed.